The Sounds and Colors of Marrakesh

Standard

The pashmina obsession has not faded since my trip to Turkey in the spring, so I decided a trip to Morocco to refresh my pashmina stock was in order! Unfortunately, my camera was stolen in Barcelona the week after I went to Marrakesh so I lost all my photos but I really learned my lesson about backing up photos ASAP.

This visit was spent exploring the souks, buying wonderful pashminas, handmade gifts, and enjoying cheap and delicious Moroccan food. I also went on a tour to go visit some waterfalls outside of the city. Going back to the Arab world after I left Lebanon was like going back home. There were things that I was so excited to see and do again, and there were things that I knew would bother me so much. Being back in the chaos was exciting  – cars that don’t worry about the lack of roads, bartering with market men to drop the price to a 1/10 of what they quote, a dizzying array of meat and foods in the market, the pure heaven that is a hammam. The creepy/stalky men I didn’t miss at all, along with the rampant pollution and insane litter.

But at the end of the weekend, I had a fantastic time and can’t wait for my next chance to jump back into the Arab world!

About gabbyjockers

Just a student who loves to travel, eat, cook, have adventures and hang out with awesome people! I'm restless and want to see the whole world. Music powers me and I love listening to new things and going to shows with my crazy friends. I grew up in South Florida and made the move up to Boston for college as soon as I could. Right now I'm doing an internship in marketing for The Alleyway in Beirut and it's pretty exciting being here!

Leave a Reply

