Street Art in Granada: A Photoessay

Standard

Vibrant colors, detailed portraits, emotionally charged visualizations. You might find these things in an art gallery or a museum, by all you really need to do is spend an afternoon or two wandering around the streets of Granada to see some of the most stunning and personal art. At least to me, the graffiti and murals on the side of building and shops’ metal barriers are some of the most captivating works I’ve seen, not only describing the artist or the place, but the people of Granada and Spain as a whole.

We see not only some great creativity in making even the most boring things eye –catching and beautiful:

Photo1
Photo2

Photo3

Photo4

Photo5

But also Granada’s vibrant music scene:

Photo6
Photo7

Photo8

Photo9

People making statements:

Photo10

Photo11

Photo12

And looks into the gritty reality of what has passed these walls:

Photo14

Photo13

But then some things are encouraging and hopeful for the future:

Photo15

And you can tell these people take pride in their work, their city, their freedom, their people, and their county. They love what they’re doing:

Photo16
Photo17

Photo18

Photo19

Photo20

Photo21

The art I find in the street speaks the most to me. It represents the person who is not represented elsewhere, whose art would not make it into a gallery or a museum. Some people such as Banksy, Os Gemeos, and Harper Ferry have managed to make strong statements through their street art and I like to recognize those artists who speak to their own people through a medium they encounter every day. This is one way I understand Granada.

About gabbyjockers

Just a student who loves to travel, eat, cook, have adventures and hang out with awesome people! I'm restless and want to see the whole world. Music powers me and I love listening to new things and going to shows with my crazy friends. I grew up in South Florida and made the move up to Boston for college as soon as I could. Right now I'm doing an internship in marketing for The Alleyway in Beirut and it's pretty exciting being here!

Leave a Reply

