The Lowest Point in My Life

Standard

I’ve hit salt bottom.

And it was awesome.

After a fun night in Amman where a friend of Alexis from school, Nina, and her boyfriend, Anas, brought us around the town to a cool outdoor hookah lounge where I tried a mysterious, but delicious, red juice and saw The Avengers, we hopped in a cab with a couple guys from our hostel to go to the Dead Sea.

P1160239

As we all know, the Dead Sea is the lowest point on Earth at 1,400 feet below sea level, bordering Jordan, Israel, and the West Bank, and it’s insanely salty, which means you can float in the water without even trying. It also means it’s too salty for any animal life to possibly survive in the waters, hence the name.

P1160254
P1160258

We went down to the Dead Sea Spa, recommended to me by the owner of the hotel we stayed at in Wadi Musa, since he owns this one too. Besides going to a public beach, which I was not crazy about because of the modestly issue, the Dead Sea Spa is one of the cheapest options in a coast covered in expensive resort beaches. The Dead Sea Spa was beautiful, with 4 pools, 3 different main areas for lounging and tanning (including one right on the beach), and a nice chunk of Dead Sea beach. We got settled and went into the water. I had been super careful the past week, as I usually end up with a random assortment of cuts and scrapes at any given time from just falling around and walking into things. So besides the scab on my knee from the car I was free to enjoy myself in the water without any stinging or pain from the salt.

P1160241
P1160298
P1160247

The Dead Sea.

P1160255

P1160262

It was so fun! I don’t know why, but I expected the water to feel somehow thicker because of the density. It was just regular water though and floating on it was so weird. Then it was time to move on to the famous Dead Sea mud. Instead of taking mud from the “Free Mud Box” the spa had set up near the shoreline, we went on a hunt along the floor of the sea to find the silkiest, smoothest mud we could use to slather ourselves with. What we originally thought were rocks getting in the way of our mud were actually huge chunks of salt mixed in with the mud. After a while though, the mud dried all over me and it got really hot so I hate to wash it off. My skin was amazingly soft after the mud came off, so nice and exfoliated from the salt too.

P1160265
P1160277

Floatin’

For the rest of the day we relaxed by the pools and played in the waterslides for a while before random guys around the pool were creepy enough that I just went to hang out at the other end of the pool area. Late in the afternoon Nina and Anas drove out to the Dead Sea to pick us up and drive us to the airport, stopping on the way for a surprise impromptu camel ride! Anas had heard that neither I nor Alexis had ever ridden on a camel so he brought us out here as a surprise. Really, these two were the most welcoming and generous hosts to Jordan, it was great to be able to hang out with them while we were in Amman.

P1160311
P1160315
P1160319

Our lovely hosts.

About gabbyjockers

Just a student who loves to travel, eat, cook, have adventures and hang out with awesome people! I'm restless and want to see the whole world. Music powers me and I love listening to new things and going to shows with my crazy friends. I grew up in South Florida and made the move up to Boston for college as soon as I could. Right now I'm doing an internship in marketing for The Alleyway in Beirut and it's pretty exciting being here!

Leave a Reply

