Into the Deep: Qadisha Valley

Standard

Even though it’s in the Middle East, Lebanon is definitely NOT a desert. I don’t think there’s even any desert in the whole country. And here’s some proof for you:

P1150458
P1150502

A couple weeks ago I tagged along an AUB (American University of Beirut) International Student Group trip with a couple of people I know taking classes there on a hiking drip down Qadisha Valley. I was wearing sandals of course, so I got some weird looks and the hike leader told me it would be difficult for me not wearing sneakers. Except I was the only one who was able to take my shoes off and stick them in the nice, cool river rushing along the valley. I don’t even own sneakers…and I don’t see any reason why I should get any.

318124_10151722854795648_846135647_24352604_927867581_n
P1150507

It was really relaxing, being in a lush green forest again was so refreshing, especially considering the difference in air quality between the valley and Beirut. Near the beginning of our walk we visited a Maronite Christian convent and an church from back when the Maronites took refuge in the valley.

P1150472
P1150481

At first I thought this was the Blablabla tree…and then I just realized it was a no talking allowed sign. Oops.

P1150482
P1150494

We ended up at a restaurant and had a good mezze lunch before driving up to Bcharre (where Ski de Nuit a couple months back) to visit the Khalil Gibran Museum. This guy was a great artist, but he was all sorts of crazy, having his coffin on display in the basement. To each his own, I suppose.

P1150530
P1150536

On the way back to Beirut we stopped to get some ice cream (yes!) and saw some interesting things to see and play with…

P1150540

P1150541

I really want to do some more hiking after this, especially in the Chouf Cedar Reserve. It’s all about keeping an eye out for opportunities at this point.

P1150525

About gabbyjockers

Just a student who loves to travel, eat, cook, have adventures and hang out with awesome people! I'm restless and want to see the whole world. Music powers me and I love listening to new things and going to shows with my crazy friends. I grew up in South Florida and made the move up to Boston for college as soon as I could. Right now I'm doing an internship in marketing for The Alleyway in Beirut and it's pretty exciting being here!

Leave a Reply

