Tasting Lebanon: Bread Republic

Standard

Since before I even got here, I’ve been hearing about Bread Republic in so many places online and it sounded cool so I finally made it over there this week. Located in a small alleyway off Hamra Street, Bread Republic has a nice patio area outside and what looked to be a pretty decently sized indoor eating area (I never made it in, it was so nice out we sat on the patio). The place looked to be a hipster heaven, in the nicest way possible of course, and I was just happy to have some non-pita/baguette bread for the first time in over a month.

This place serves all day breakfast, specializing in, you guessed it, bread. It’s also a member of Slow Food Lebanon, which means all their ingredients are sourced locally using environmentally sustainable production methods. Slow Food is a grassroots organization founded back in the 80’s in Italy, when community members decided it was time to fight back against the fast food culture that is taking advantage of farmers and taking a toll on the health of our bodies and our planet.

To begin with, the menu looked awesome. There were a lot of different choices for every meal of the day, including quite a bit of seafood, which I have yet to see here. I settled on some kebbeh stuffed with labneh and thyme (delicious) and a warm beef, cheddar, and beet sandwich. Though the huge chunks of beet were a bit much for me, after I took them out the sandwich was fantastic with the beet flavor backing it up.

I think I’ll definitely be going back to Bread Republic, maybe for breakfast next time, especially considering there’s a location within 20 minutes walking from me. Maybe Sunday brunch…

About gabbyjockers

Just a student who loves to travel, eat, cook, have adventures and hang out with awesome people! I'm restless and want to see the whole world. Music powers me and I love listening to new things and going to shows with my crazy friends. I grew up in South Florida and made the move up to Boston for college as soon as I could. Right now I'm doing an internship in marketing for The Alleyway in Beirut and it's pretty exciting being here!

Leave a Reply

