Makin’ Moves

Standard

Now that I’m back to working full time, sitting in an office all day everyday makes me so tired I need to find some physical activity to wake me up. I’m too restless to not be moving around a lot and since I’m definitely not as active here as I’m used to being in Boston (if only because I was always on the move) I decided yoga would be a good thing to get into. So I went and found a studio that’s right in-between work and home and went to a class there to test it out. And boy was that a good decision. Immediately after the class my whole body, especially my back that has been on a mission to cause me endless discomfort, felt so noticeably better. And the next day the improvement only increased. I’m glad now I have something to keep me occupied, active, and stretching around on a regular basis.

Also, I finally made it out to The Angry Monkey on Wednesday with the fellow Northeastern co-op in Beirut, Alexis. Apparently Wednesday night is the best night to go because of the live cover band, which was playing all our favorite songs from way back in the middle school years, so that was definitely a cool throwback. The band was pretty talented too, especially the lead singer. Overall, it was a pretty fun night, though the entertainment did end a bit on the early side.

The weekend was quite relaxing, spent sleeping in, walking around outside enjoying the warm weather (finally!) and exploring the neighborhood. A couple nights spent out in Hamra really showed me the differences between the two “nightlife hotspots” of the city (Gemmayze and Hamra), in the options, the people, the energy, and how much easier it is to find a cab in Hamra. The influence of having at least two major universities right in the neighborhood, as well as a much larger international student population in Hamra, manifested itself when we watched an obviously trashed girl stumble out the bar to go throw up on the side of the road with her girlfriends all totter out in their sky-high heels right behind to take care of her. I almost felt like I was back in Boston on a Thursday/Friday/Saturday night again. Gemmayze seems a lot more tame and grown-up by comparison, though maybe I just haven’t seen enough of the two yet to judge.

Either way, at least I know now Beirut has some interesting variety.

About gabbyjockers

Just a student who loves to travel, eat, cook, have adventures and hang out with awesome people! I'm restless and want to see the whole world. Music powers me and I love listening to new things and going to shows with my crazy friends. I grew up in South Florida and made the move up to Boston for college as soon as I could. Right now I'm doing an internship in marketing for The Alleyway in Beirut and it's pretty exciting being here!

Leave a Reply

