Tasting Lebanon: Kebob in Bourj Hammoud

Standard

This week I ventured into Bourj Hammoud, one of the major Armenian communities in Beirut where most of the survivors of the Armenian Genocide rebuilt their lives after the death marches in Syria, with a Lebanese-Armenian friend for what I would learn was going to be the hands-down, most delicious kebob I’ve ever had in my life. Along with the most mind-blowing lamb that’s ever been created on this planet. We sat down and enjoyed a very Lebanese meal, starting with a delicious hommos and salad, some stuffed eggplant and peppers, and accompanied with the traditional eastern-Mediterranean spirit Arak. Though my friend loved his Arak with his meal, I found it a little too sweet and liquorice-y for my taste.

I’m glad he warned me not to eat too much at that point though, because the hommos was so delicious I wouldn’t have stopped on my own. Next we had two huge plates of meat and chicken, one that had a nice spice and red sauce on the pita and the other with skewers of meat and pita stuffed with fresh seasonings to scoop it up. By the time we finished these plates we were both nearly comatose from full bellies when the server put down one last plate on the table. On it was the most succulent, flavorful lamb chops I have ever had the pleasure of tasting. Just remembering it now is making me drool a little and causing my stomach to growl.

As a perfect finale, I was introduced to the “fruit cocktail” for the first time. There are so many fruit and juice shops around Beirut and I only ever went into one before to get some fresh kiwi juice, but never even thought about this mysterious fruit cocktail I saw on the menu for each one. As it turns out, fruit cocktails are quite an interesting thing, with little collections of fruits, fruit mousses and puddings, nuts and wafer-thin cookies arranged nicely in a clear cup so you can see all the colorful layers. We saved ours for later since neither of us could imagine taking another bite of food, and finally tasting it was a perfect late-night treat. Unfortunately I didn’t even think of getting pictures of anything that night, but I’ll try to think of that in the future.

Needless to say, I think I found a gem. I’m going to have to try to go back sometime soon so I can cement the location right off the major road in Bourj Hammoud in my memory for future excursions.

About gabbyjockers

Just a student who loves to travel, eat, cook, have adventures and hang out with awesome people! I'm restless and want to see the whole world. Music powers me and I love listening to new things and going to shows with my crazy friends. I grew up in South Florida and made the move up to Boston for college as soon as I could. Right now I'm doing an internship in marketing for The Alleyway in Beirut and it's pretty exciting being here!

Leave a Reply

