Because what would any city be without a giant sequined camel?

Standard

Never before in my life had I been so jetlagged from traveling. After waking up at 2 in the afternoon, I only managed to go find some food before getting chased back inside by the rain, which had been falling since I got here, and passing out again, waking up well after it was dark. I made it outside and was happy to see it was no longer raining, so I took this opportunity to explore the area I was staying a bit.

First impressions included the tiny sidewalks, construction everywhere I could see, drivers who acted like they only just discovered their cars had horns and felt like they had to test them out thoroughly, and the general run-down look of most of the buildings and roads. Looking past this, I saw long staircases leading to mysterious depths, huge trees, and hidden greenery, peeks of the Mediterranean Sea and smoky mountains in the distance, a huge mosque next to an equally large cathedral, and a huge, silver-sequined camel on a staircase between two clubs. Along allthis I heard a jumble of Arabic, French, and English in the streets and restaurants, and I realized there was so much to this city and these people and  I would only be experiencing the tip of the iceberg in the few short months I am to live here.

After the weekend of rest it was nice to start working Monday morning and have something to do during the rainy days.

 

About gabbyjockers

Just a student who loves to travel, eat, cook, have adventures and hang out with awesome people! I'm restless and want to see the whole world. Music powers me and I love listening to new things and going to shows with my crazy friends. I grew up in South Florida and made the move up to Boston for college as soon as I could. Right now I'm doing an internship in marketing for The Alleyway in Beirut and it's pretty exciting being here!

One response »

Leave a Reply

